Blog post #2- Let’s go crazy (FC 1)

While deciding what to write for this free choice post, I came across a prompt that I thought was both interesting and relatable. Here it is:

Sometimes, we act on impulse: it could be something as small as ordering that special dessert on the menu, maybe asking out that cute boy or girl, or as large as quitting your job and selling everything you own to become a shepard in New Zealand. What’s the most crazy, outrageously impulsive thing you’ve ever done? If you’ve never succumbed to temptation, dream a little. If you gave yourself permission to go a little crazy, what would you do?

First off, I am the kind of person who doesn’t enjoy a lot of change. I heavily rely on routine and structure in my daily life, so I rarely make impulsive decisions. That is not to say that I don’t think about going a little crazy, though. For instance, the other night I was getting frozen yogurt. I always get the same thing every time, but this particular night the machine with the flavor that I so desired was out of order. I was suddenly faced with a dilemma of elephantine proportions- or at least it felt that way in the moment. For some reason I couldn’t bare the idea of trying a new combination. Although I have thought about changing it up a little on multiple occasions, I could never bring myself to do it. To no surprise, this time wasn’t any different and I ended up not getting anything.

In contrast to the comforting feelings I receive from the normalcies of everyday life, “quitting your job and selling everything you own to become a shepard in New Zealand” sounds oddly appealing. Well, not literally. The idea sounds interesting, but I don’t think that I would ever do that. As far as taking the challenge of giving myself permission to go a little crazy, I think that I am going to try it. Not at an extreme level, of course.  Sometimes, a little change can be nice and refreshing, so I think that I will benefit from this. I think that a continuos routine can also become laborious and cause people to lack motivation. Also, I think that you can’t better yourself or grow as a person if you never leave your comfort zone.

3 Comments on Blog post #2- Let’s go crazy (FC 1)

  1. sajalr314
    March 15, 2014 at 10:14 pm (10 years ago)

    This is a very insightful blog, excellent job! I absolutely agree that to grow a person needs to get out of his/her comfort zone. My dad preaches the exact words every day. He says that I cannot be afraid of doing unconventional things that I’m not used to. Also, sometimes change is good. Even though now I have adapted and I am not afraid of change anymore, I still remember the days when I feared change. For example, when the CATs system was changed, I was scared out of my guts! I was so successful, and I credited the CATs system for my success, but the School was taking it away! But then I had to tell myself that my successes might even improve from “change.”

    Reply
  2. jamiecb214
    March 18, 2014 at 2:11 am (10 years ago)

    This is a very interesting post. I find that I am similar to you in that I like routine and structure in my every day life as well. I have many fantasies of change and going a little crazy often as well. There are so many times in my life where I find myself saying “what if I did this, or what if I did that” and coming up with scenarios in my head that I know I would never go through with or do. It’s fun to dream a little. Maybe someday we’ll do something crazy and go out of our own comfort zone because I agree when a person leaves their comfort zone and tests their own limits, they will better as a person.

    Reply
  3. nadaf214
    March 18, 2014 at 12:40 pm (10 years ago)

    I really enjoyed reading your post. I am just like you, I don’t really like change in my life. At restaurants, I order the same thing every time, and I often don’t like to try out new restaurants. I completely understand what you’re saying.

    Reply

Leave a Reply